Media Release: Research Training System Review

ACOLA today has issued a media release announcing the appointment of the Expert Working Group for the Research Training System Review. More information regarding the review can be found here, and the full media release can be read here.

The Australian Council of Learned Academies has appointed the Expert Working Group to conduct the review of the Research Training System, as announced by the Minister for Education and Training in May 2015. The members of the EWG are:

Mr John McGagh FTSE (Chair) – Chair, Institute of Chemical Engineers Australia; former Global Head of Innovation, Rio Tinto

Professor Helene Marsh FAA FTSE (Deputy Chair) – Dean, Graduate Research, James Cook University

Professor Mark Western FASSA (Deputy Chair) – Director, Institute of Social Science Research, University of Queensland

Professor Jim McCluskey FAA – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), University of Melbourne

Professor Stephen Garton FAHA FASSA – Provost and Deputy Vice Chancellor, University of Sydney

Professor Majella Franzmann FAHA – former Pro Vice Chancellor, Humanities, Curtin University

Emeritus Professor Cindy Gallois FASSA – Emeritus Professor of Psychology, University of Queensland

Professor Robyn Owens FTSE – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research), University of Western Australia

Professor Michael Barber FAA FTSE – Chair, ACOLA Securing Australia’s Future Program Steering Committee; former Vice Chancellor, Flinders University

The review is being supported by a project team from the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. The EWG will meet in the coming weeks, and will shortly call for written submissions from interested parties. This will be followed by a period of consultations in various locations around Australia. Further details will be made available via the ACOLA website


For more information contact Dr Jacques de Vos Malan at

 Download this media release.